Diary of a Mad Dollmaker

Mimi's Weblog – Let's Talk About Dollmaking

My Sister Made Me Do It! – Chapter 4: NIADA March 1985

Cancer Report

To everyone who sent me lovely gifts; beautiful examples of their work, thank you so  much. That is adorable and made me smile. And the beautiful cards both the electric cards and the ones I can hold. Thank you so much for thinking of me. Thank you so very much for your lovely samples of your art work, I treasure them all, and especially for your prayers.

I have not paid much attention to the computer and email for the past few weeks and will probably continue to be listless about it. There are only two more treatments and then either it’s over or I take a break  and enjoy AFICC. I can’t wait. What fun to look forward to.

The reason for the inattention is that I have been feeling a bit under the weather for the past several weeks. No off week last week and just had the fourth infusion of round two last Monday. I have been feeling the cumulative effects from the three bags of poison that is fed into my chest every two weeks for five months… Nothing serious. It is not the cancer: this is the chemo sickness.

My numbers are still low but not very and come up a fraction of a point every week and that is very good.  I am scheduled for another PET Scan soon. More news after I see my oncologist the following Monday. I am spending most of my time dozing in my recliner because between the nausea and the feeling of total exhaustion that there is absolutely no energy to do anything. Today I am able to type for a while. Every day gets a little bit easier and then it starts all over again.

I am trying to rid my body of inflammation by cutting out most, eventually all, animal protein and all sugar. These cause inflammation which encourages and feeds cancer cells. I saw the photos of a scan that when the nuclear medicine mixed with the glucose (sugar) the cancer lit up like a Christmas tree and began to grow. Funny that I no longer miss the sugar. I have been cutting down drastically but there were a few slips from time to time – very small ones. I have to get this body in good health so it can be more efficient at healing itself.

So that is my goal: To make this body last another 20 years. I have too much work to do here and I will need the energy to do it and this is how I shall. A Mediterranean diet and enough exercise. It will take a few months to get strong again. I have been out of the gym for almost five years. But our apartment complex has a lovely gym and it is free to tenants along with a lovely pool. As soon as I get off the chemo its back to the gym. Baby steps at first but I tend to get in competition with myself and overdo it. Jim is always telling me to take it easy and slow down a bit.
Love,
Gloria (aka Mimi)

Announcements:

  • Chat every Sunday evening at 7 to 8 pm Eastern time (GMT-5). Go to Chat.Quiltropolis.Com choose a user name, select “The Screaming Mimis” from the drop-down list, and click the “Join Chat” button. You don’t have to be a member to join the chat, but we’d love to have you as a member of the group.

GO DOLLY DIRT!

My Sister Made Me Do It!

A Memoir of My 30 year Journey to Becoming a Doll Artist

Chapter -4:  NIADA (National Institute of American Doll Artists) March, 1985

NIADA! Finally! I waited for the day it opened for a long month. I think it was March because it was Spring and my coat felt good. I don’t know how many days NIADA ran, probably three. Now it’s longer. I wish I could remember every minute.

I arrived at the hotel across 7th Avenue from Pennsylvania Station at 9am. I was met by Mirren Barrie, President of NIADA (you can see a retrospective of her work at NIADA.Org). There were 50 or 60 people in the large room. Mirren read the agenda for the day and I wish I could remember it all. They usually have programs by various artistes, both NIADA and non-members, who show slides of their work and tell the story of each doll. I loved them all. I met Carole Bowling who spent an hour explaining how she created a perfect portrait of her son at 4 years old. She covered the sculpt with cloth and made a cloth body. My mind exploded! The ideas! I had no idea these kinds of people existed! Doll Artists! I wanted to be a Doll Artist!

I attended every program that morning. On a break that afternoon, I wondered over to the bar to get a bottle of soda water and this interesting looking couple, three sheets to the wind, were discussing dollmaking. I eavesdropped for a while and then joined the conversation. I had just met Lisa Lichtenfels and Bob McKinley. They were calming their nerves while waiting to see if the Standards Committee and the present member artists found their work worthy of membership. It was announced later when we were invited to view the new members work. They both got in.

There was a mixer that evening where the artists, patrons and guests were introduced to each other. I had no idea who anyone was. I did get an invitation to visit a United Federation of Doll Clubs (UFDC) in New York City. I did visit the National Doll and Toy Collectors Club of NYC and was an active member from 1985 until we moved to Florida last July.

The next morning I took my first modeling class from Susanna Oroyan. I sat next to R. John Wright’s wife. She modeled her young daughter’s face. The child was about 6-years old. When I saw his dolls, I knew she modeled the faces for her husband’s dolls. She never publically said so.

At some point, the Standards Committee critiqued “guest artist” dolls for $25. (I had registered far in advance.) I brought my newborn male doll, Adam. He was sexed and bare naked. R. John Wright stood up inside a circle of 5 seated artists – the Standards Committee – and held the doll up. This was a program with an audience. I don’t even remember if there was another to be critiqued. I was mortified that he thought it was “cute” but not anatomically correct. The arms and legs were too long and the genitals too large.

I said: “You haven’t met my newborn grandson.” (He grew up to be 6’ 7” and one of New York’s Finest.) Then he passed it around the committee. Most of the other artists echoed the chairs opinion. Mirren Barrie said I should study with Lisa Lichtenfels because she too did soft sculpture!

I asked Lisa if she gave classes. She said she would think about it.

On Sunday was what everyone wanted to see: the Annual NIADA Show and Sale. Tables were set up around the perimeter of the room. As I walked around the room, I talked with each artist about how they did this and that, and they explained so much. I was amazed at how open and friendly everyone was.

When I got around the room, I was amazed: Carol Nordel had sculpted Camelot in miniature. There must have been dozens and dozens of figures – horses, armored knights, medieval ladies, a castle. I burst into tears.

Little (5’ tall), and quite gently Mirren Barrie reached up to touch my shoulder. She asked (with about 5 “Rs” in the word): “Is this your firrrrrst time dearie?” Then I lost it. She was so cool. She said I was “viewing the best of the best” and she was glad to see how it moved me.

Many, many years later, when Carol Nordel was suffering from dementia, at her last NIADA convention, she “showed” work that had retreated to child-like primitive. I cried yet again.

Continued next week – Chapter 5:  Reno, Nevada

Thursday, March 14, 2013 - Posted by | Cancer, Diary, Memoir | ,

1 Comment »

  1. Gloria, please try not to overdo things, because that will only set you back. I was fortunate, in that I only had chemo one day a month for five months, but I know I felt dragged out for a long time.

    Sending you prayers,

    Diane (dollfriend) Dellicker

    Comment by Diane F. Dellicker | Thursday, March 14, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers

