Diary of a Mad Dollmaker

Mimi's Weblog – Let's Talk About Dollmaking

A Week Off

Cancer Report

I have completed 2 rounds of standard chemotherapy this week. The last several weeks have been difficult.

The cancer is not making me sick – the cancer is almost gone. It is the chemo side effects that are keeping me from feeling as good as I used to feel. The chemo is poisons that kill the cancer, hopefully, without killing me as well.

The side effects are cumulative and my body is just not happy hosting six months of nausea, neuropathy of the hands and feet and bladder muscles, and swollen mouth and tongue. The taste buds are not doing well either.

In addition, there is the feeling of almost total exhaustion. The Oncologist tells me the nausea and exhaustion will be gone in three weeks or so, but the nerves may take months to heal.

When I had my last treatment, I asked to skip the oxy-platin (?) that caused the tingling and numbness and “chemo incontenance.” The Oncologist omitted it, so maybe the side effects will all subside a bit earlier.

I expect to feel great in 3 weeks when I go to AFICC. I can’t wait!

I hope to write the next installment in “My Sister Made Me Do It!” in a few days as I get healthier and stronger.

 An Unusual Announcement:

  • I probably won’t be in the chat for the next few weeks until I get back from AFICC. But please go ahead and chat, about me or not.
  • Chat every Sunday evening at 7 to 8 pm Eastern time (GMT-5). Go to Chat.Quiltropolis.Com choose a user name, select “The Screaming Mimis” from the drop-down list, and click the “Join Chat” button. You don’t have to be a member to join the chat, but we’d love to have you as a member of the group.
Friday, April 5, 2013 - Posted by | Cancer, Diary |

1 Comment »

  1. Gloria Please keep the diet in the book I advised you to read How to cure almost Any Cancer for About $5.15 a day even if you have to cook the food and mix in a blender and drink it. I have been praying for you and your family as you have been taking the chemo, and you know they overdo the chemo. I hope and pray your at the end of Chemo and never need it again. I hope you have a grand time at he AFICC affair, I think you need some enjoyment and also getting back to being healthy which I know you will do even if it takes some time. It takes years for the chemo to leave your system, if it ever leaves. These little diaries you write are very interesting and you are a wonderful person and great doll maker and teacher. Love, Hugs and prayers for you.

    Comment by Dianne Sahakian | Saturday, April 6, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers

