It’s Snowing Dolls in Point Pleasant by the Sea

Woke up to snow; the fifth time this year. This is the third storm in the last two weeks. We live very close to the ocean and we do not usually get much snow — often none at all for a couple of years. This year we are making up for it. This is our 5th “nor-easter” this year. A nor-easter is when a storm from the West Coast meets a storm coming up from the South. They usually meet over the mid and North East Coast. This year they met over Point Pleasant by the Sea. We are supposed to get another 14 inches before it ends late tomorrow night or Saturday morning.

Sparki and Kasi

Sparki and Kasi and the Bee

Kasi on Her Back

I have dressed two of the elves, Kasi and Sparki. When I pose the head in a down position, I like the pose, but it makes it difficult for Jim to get decent photographs. We had to lie her down on her back to get a decent photo of her face. Kasi is a cute doll. I like her attitude.

They are dressed in blue, turquoise and purple. The fabrics I used are cotton Lycra and a new micro-fiber that looks and feels like light-weight ultra suede, but works up more like a felt. The dolls belong to my dear friend Carol and she provided the fabrics for their clothing. I have no idea what this fabric is actually called. She did not remember where she bought them. These are Carol’s colors. Just one look at her attire and her beautiful SoHo loft will convince anyone of this fact. They are gorgeous jewel tones.

It took five days to dress both of them. These dolls are a labor of love and are a gift to Carol. She and Ben are very generous to put up me and my friends when we need a bed in NYC for a doll event or a class.

I do know that if I plan to sell these dolls at an affordable price I can’t afford to spend that much time making them. I can make two elf bodies, wigged in three and one half days. It took another five days to dress both of them, and neither one has a hat. They have pants, shirts, vests and shoes.

I can not sell them if I price them high enough to compensate myself for four to five days work each. I’m talking 10-hour days. But then again, it takes two weeks to make one of my large dolls from start to finish. Folks expect to pay far less for small dolls than for one three times larger. The collector does not understand that the smaller a doll is, the more difficult it is to make and dress.

Let me know your thoughts on pricing your dolls to sell.

I rarely do shows. I never have enough to fill a table. I sell only at ODACA Day, and to students when I teach. I have sold many through my website. “Michael Dances Spartacus” sold the day the Doll Art Quarterly issue in which he was shown, came out.

Michael Dances Spartacus

Michael Dances Spartacus

Boy, It’s snowing harder now. It is heavy and wet and the trees are gorgeous. That’s my two cents for today. I have six more little elves that don’t want to stay naked.

Share

Leave a Reply

