Diary of a Mad Dollmaker

Mimi's Weblog – Let's Talk About Dollmaking

Mimi’s Health Update

Mimi has had a very bad week. She got up by herself to get something from the kitchen and fell. She bruised some ribs. For a couple of days she was getting weaker and weaker, so we took her into the hospital. They kept her 3 days adding fluids and running tests. Then they recommended that we take her to a hospice.

She has been at the hospice since Friday 2/10. Today is Monday, 2/13. The doctor says she is deteriorating rapidly as her body shuts down. She will no longer eat or drink. The doctor thinks that she will last at least until Wednesday 2/15 when her daughter Cathie and her brother Alan arrive.

We appreciate your prayers.

 

Jim

Monday, February 13, 2017 - Posted by | Cancer, Health |

33 Comments »

  1. Jim,I am an avid fan and am saddened to hear about Mimi!  My heart and prayers for Mimi and you as she continues her journey… 

    Pam Walker

    “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience; we are spiritual beings having a human experience.” – Pierre Teilhard de Chardin …

     

    Comment by creativedawn | Monday, February 13, 2017 | Reply

  2. Jim, I’m so sorry. My thoughts are with you both and your family…

    Comment by Romona | Monday, February 13, 2017 | Reply

  3. My heart goes out to you & your family, Jim. Thank you for keeping us up to date. You are all in my prayers.

    Comment by Diane Dellicker | Monday, February 13, 2017 | Reply

  4. My thoughts are with you both. xox

    Comment by Bronwyn Mcdougall | Monday, February 13, 2017 | Reply

  5. God bless her, she has put up a good fight. The hard part is over for her and just beginning for you and family.

    Comment by Pat Ames | Monday, February 13, 2017 | Reply

  6. Jim My heart, spirit, and prays are with you, Mimi, and the family. Touch Mimi’s hand for me and gently convey that the world of dolls awaits and all the doll makers will treasure her art forever. I will start tonight gathering supplies and materials to make “Mimi’s Earth Angel” doll in her honor. A loyal follower Sharon

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Comment by setaitt1 | Monday, February 13, 2017 | Reply

  7. I am so sorry to hear this. I will keep her and you and your family in my prayers.
    She has fought a strong fight.
    Sorrowful Gwen Jackson

    Comment by Gwen Jackson | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  8. Dear Jim,

    I’m so sad to hear the news. Praying for Gloria and you and your families. May you all find comfort in this very difficult time.

    Sincerely,

    Cindy Etchison

    ________________________________

    Comment by CINDY ETCHISON | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  9. Prayers of strength and peace for Mimi, Jim and the family.

    Comment by Cynthia Phelps | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  10. To Jim, Cassie and all of Mimi’s family and close friends. I am so sorry to hear of Mimi’s failing health. I will pray for a peaceful and painless transition for her. My thoughts and prayers will be with you all at this difficult time. I know there must be a special place in Heaven for those as wonderful as Mimi.

    Comment by Sandra Bejster | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  11. Mimi is such an inspiration to us all. My thoughts and prayers are with Mimi and her family.

    Comment by Sue Daniel | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  12. May the Lord hold you all in his hands.

    Comment by Marianne | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  13. Y’ALL ARE IN MY THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS.

    Comment by Susie Norwood | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  14. Y’all are in my thoughts and prayers. Love from Birmingham, AL.

    Comment by Susie Norwood | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  15. Jim–A number of years ago I used to come at Holiday time to spend a week with Mimi. She gave me one of her light tables which I still use. I remember those times with affection. I love Mimi and cherish the doll I own of hers.

    I am terribly saddened to learn that Mimi is not doing well. Sending my prayers to you and the family. . If she is aware, please extend my love to her.

    Comment by Kathy Semone | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  16. Jim, I am so sad to hear this news. My thoughts and prayers are with you and Mimi, as well as your family. She will be missed.

    Comment by Eleanor J Heimbach | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  17. We love Mim and everything she designed. Thinking of her and her struggle Sylvia

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Comment by Sylvia Herb | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  18. So sad. Prayers and thoughts are with you.

    Comment by Katie | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  19. Jim I am so sorry to hear this. Please remind Gloria how loved she is by thousands of doll makers all over the world.

    Comment by Judy Skeel | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  20. My heart is breaking! We all love Mimi so much! The dolly world will never be the same again! My thoughts, prayers and love are with you all! 😥

    Comment by BJ. Janes, LaMarque TX | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  21. Dear Jim: My prayers go out to both you and Mimi. I took a class from her in 2007 in New Mexico. Betty Ballentine

    Comment by Betty C Ballentine | Tuesday, February 14, 2017 | Reply

  22. As a past student in Australia I thank Gloria for the knowledge that she shared with us. May she be at peace, she will always be remembered fondly.

    Comment by Edith Rice | Wednesday, February 15, 2017 | Reply

  23. Thank you, Jim, for this update in Gloria. I have known her since the beginning of my own dollmaking career (25+ years) and have always cherished her.
    It saddens me that she will be gone, but am grateful for the wonderful legacy she had created.
    My heart goes out to you and your family.
    Leslie Molen

    Comment by rootiestudio | Wednesday, February 15, 2017 | Reply

  24. Mimi my prayers are with you, you who were very instrumental in helping me become the teddy bear maker I am today, I thank you for all you information and creative energy you sent out in the doll world. Much love.

    Comment by jacki baker | Wednesday, February 15, 2017 | Reply

  25. I’ m sad to hear about Mimi and I hope and pray that she recovers. I still believe in miracles and Pray to GOD that HE will Heal Mimi. GOD Bless you, Mimi and her family.

    Comment by Iris Stewart | Wednesday, February 15, 2017 | Reply

  26. Jim, Mimi has been a great influence on my doll making life. I loved her spirit and drive. She will be healed up in prayer for comfort and peace.

    Comment by Marilynn Huston | Wednesday, February 15, 2017 | Reply

  27. Prayers for you, Mimi and your families.

    Comment by Kathleen Klein | Wednesday, February 15, 2017 | Reply

  28. Wishing you all the best at this difficult time

    Comment by Susan Richardson | Thursday, February 16, 2017 | Reply

  29. God Be With You

    Comment by Mary McKenzie | Thursday, February 16, 2017 | Reply

  30. ODACA LOVES HER & WILL MISS HER.

    Comment by Donna | Thursday, February 16, 2017 | Reply

  31. Omg ! I pray for Mimi. I hope that she is not suffering. May God open a place next to Him for her. Amen

    Comment by Françoise DUARTE | Friday, February 17, 2017 | Reply

  32. I always remember Mimi and her willingness to share. It is with great sadness to read this. Prayers to you and the family.

    Comment by Deborah Williams | Friday, February 17, 2017 | Reply

  33. I am so sorry to hear of Mimi’s decline. You both have had a long and difficult struggle. My prayers are with you. Maureen McLeod

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Comment by Maureen McLeod | Saturday, February 18, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

