Diary of a Mad Dollmaker

Mimi's Weblog – Let's Talk About Dollmaking

Mimi Update March 1, 2017

I want to thank all of you for your prayers and good wishes. Many of you have asked about how Cassi and I are doing/coping with Mimi’s passing. I’m going to attempt to give you some idea in this letter.

As those of you who know me are aware, I am very much an introvert who doesn’t like to be around people much. However, having lived with Mimi for more than 40 years, I’ve gotten used to living in a goldfish bowl. Besides, it might be therapeutic.

Mimi died early Sunday morning around 2 am, February 19, 2017. The hardest night was the Friday before she died. I was in pain the whole night. I think it’s because I knew she wasn’t really there anymore. I was alright Saturday, and even Sunday, but Monday I had several sobbing episodes.

The rest of the week has been mostly lethargy on my part and Cassi’s part. Both of us were hardly able to function. We have been working hard at getting just one task done each day. We spend a day on the dresser and clothes drawers, and another on the closet. We spent an entire day just taking the clothing to the Hope Chest and Goodwill. We spent a day on the bathroom. We spent a day food shopping. That’s five of the ten days, and mostly we didn’t do anything the rest of the days. I am binge reading and binge watching Netflix. I find it hard to do anything else. I don’t have trouble sleeping, but I have a lot of trouble getting out of bed.

We still have to go through the dolls and the books and the studio. This will take many days, particularly at the rate we are going. I hope to get the local art guild to help get the studio cleaned out. Then we have the kitchen and pantry. (We took 2 days for the refrigerator and freezer.)

Cassi has hyperextended ligaments all over her body. That means she is “double jointed” everywhere. From a more practical point of view, it means that her toes and knees and shoulders dislocate by themselves frequently. That prevents her from working more than 3 or 4 hours at a time. For some reason, she was dropped from Medicaid (thanks Florida) and we have to reapply for social security SSI and fight our way through the bureaucracy.

I have a number of other tasks that I will get to as I can.

  • Dolls for Lisa Lichtenfels.
  • Dolls and gifts for family members.
  • NIADA, Doll and Toy Collectors Club of NYC, and doll convention t-shirts, sweatshirts, programs, souvenirs, and other things that should go to dollmakers instead of Goodwill. (If you are interested, let me know.)
  • Send personal thank you messages to as many of you as I can.
  • New ebook of Victoria Rose pattern.
  • New ebook of Pretty Faces videos.
  • New pattern for Elves.
  • New pattern for High Priestess.
  • New pattern for Spartacus.
  • Behind the Scenes at Mimidolls – the technology of dollmaking and publishing patterns and videos. (A series of articles.)
  • Finish my book and deck of Tarot Cards.

I really have no idea how we are going to do this. We have a Canadian Lynx and a Mink fur coat that she was saving to make teddy bears (neither is wearable). We have enough beads and bobbins and threads and art supplies to fill up an art supply store. Oh, well, Mimi always said: “She who dies with the most stuff, WINS!” I just didn’t think she was serious.

Anyway, I’ll try and give you a new report every week or two. Let me know what you want to hear about. (You can email me at Jim@JimWiner.Com. I may not be able to answer emails individually, but I will try to answer question or discuss ideas when I write again.)

Thanks for listening.

Jim

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - Posted by | Diary, Health

3 Comments »

  1. I just got this sad news. So sorry for what you are going thru. Great Lady.

    Comment by colleen bigler | Thursday, March 2, 2017 | Reply

  2. The grieving process and subsequent recovery can be long and difficult, but you do survive it. What you and Mimi had was a beautiful, lasting relationship. Both you and Cassi will miss Mimi every day, but with time, the pain will become less intense. It will turn into beautiful memories that will make you smile. The pain may still be there, but it will be tempered by the happy times you had. Focus on those memories and don’t hesitate to share them with your family and friends. You all need to heal from this tremendous loss.

    Comment by Eleanor J Heimbach | Thursday, March 2, 2017 | Reply

  3. You and Cassi sound like you are doing OK. Just keep slowly putting one foot in front of the other. Be patient with yourselves. I will remember you in my prayers.

    Comment by Judy Kupferle | Thursday, March 2, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply

